Betta fish plus...? (2.5 gallon tank)

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

JCKey618

AC Members
Dec 28, 2010
Hi All,

I used to be an avid aquarium guy, had a 55 gallon tank, pre-cycled it, researched a lot before getting fish, etc, etc. Had to give away tank a few years ago because of moving for medical school, now married with a couple young kids and no time for a big tank but thought a fish might be a good first pet for my young boys. This is all to say I have some background in keeping fish but it's been a while.

Went to the pet store and got a Aqueon Minibow 2.5 gallon with light and filter and one male betta fish. I know 2.5 gallons itself is fairly small for even one fish and I don't plan to get any other fish, but wondering if any other creatures I can safely add? Shrimp? Snails? Anything at all?

If advised against the betta is great by itself but just wanted to see if I have options for some diversity.

PS: Kids named my fish Blue Dumptruck.

FreshyFresh

Global Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2013
West Falls NY
Real Name
Joel
Welcome back to it JC.

You could try some snails or shrimp, but the betta will most likely pick off the shrimp. I've had bettas that would pick at larger snails tentacles, etc, causing them to stay in their shells and eventually die. Some don't have issues like this at all. Depends on the individual betta.

OrionGirl

No freelancing!
Aug 14, 2001
Poconos
Real Name
Sheila
Nerites are a decent choice to pair with a betta--they are smarter about retracting their eyes to avoid being nipped and don't reproduce in freshwater (they will lay eggs, little white dots, but nothing hatches).