Get Your MonsterFishKeepers Cap

Welcome to AquariaCentral.com

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. You will be entering into a wonderful world of aquatic information, for all aquarists, no matter what their experience level.

Our members will do their best to help you in your aquarium endeavors. We have a vast assortment of Forums to dive into:

-General Freshwater
-Marine and Brackish area
-Terrarium and Vivariums
-Coldwater
-DIY, Classifieds, Members Tanks Photographs and more.

We even have a general area, that is just as much fun as the rest of the Community, for off topic discussions and a real-time chat room for instant advice!

Joining Aquaria Central has numerous benefits, but the best, is our 112,000+ members, helping one another in this fascinating hobby!

Register now, and be sure to check out our scheduled contests with exciting prizes!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! !

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Welcome to the Internet's friendliest aquatic forum!

- Team AC

  1. Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Changing Substrate in Established Aquarium

Discussion in 'General Freshwater' started by enrique4jc, Oct 5, 2018.

  1. enrique4jc

    enrique4jc AC Members

    Real Name:
    Eric
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russell Springs, KY
    Last Seen:
    Today at 8:52 AM
    Real Name:
    Eric
    I'm considering changing my 55g community tank over from that naturalish looking brown gravel to black sand. I think the colors of my fish will "pop" much better with that black substrate and fish seem to like sand in general from previous experiences. I know there is BB in the gravel so I'd try to keep as much as possible in mesh in the tank for a while. Beyond that, what else should I be concerned about?

    Is there a problem having loose bits of sand suspended in the substrate for a while?

    Any particular black sand you'd recommend over another?

    Thanks!
     
  2. fishorama

    fishorama AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    8,674
    Likes Received:
    433
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    SF Bay area, CA
    Last Seen:
    50 minutes ago
    Well, an easier option might be to add a black background & see how that looks with your "natural" substrate.

    Can you post a pic? I need visuals to get the whole tank picture...Black is nice but so are dark browns, greens, etc. Show & tell!
     
  3. enrique4jc

    enrique4jc AC Members

    Real Name:
    Eric
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russell Springs, KY
    Last Seen:
    Today at 8:52 AM
    Real Name:
    Eric
    Bad picture with lots of glare with windows open and lamps going and all that, but you can see enough I guess.

    Background is already black.

    IMG_20181006_110553113.jpg
     
  4. the loach

    the loach AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Last Seen:
    27 minutes ago
    I would siphon the gravel out part by part spread over a couple of days. I don't recommend actual sand but very fine 2mm to 3mm gravel. They have that in black as well. Still looks like sand, small enough for bottom dwellers to dig in to but it doesn't pack like real sand (creating anaerobic areas) and much, much easier to clean as well.
     
  5. authmal

    authmal Pseudonovice

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Last Seen:
    Today at 1:55 AM
    I probably don't need to add this, but be sure to turn off filtration when adding the new sand or fine gravel. You don't need that getting into filters and such and causing damage. I had one of those Fluval C2 filters, which was great, but *man* it got messed up by sand easily if it got churned up. After the second time I heard it lock up, I made a point of unplugging it before doing anything else, and hoping none of the fish got feisty and kicked up the sand.
     
  6. the loach

    the loach AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Last Seen:
    27 minutes ago
    And then to put the new gravel in: rinse thoroughly first. Don't just scoop it in the tank. Put it in a cup, jar, container whatever, lower down gently and let it out on the bottom.
     
    jbradt likes this.
  7. tanker

    tanker Josh Holloway--Be mine!!!

    Real Name:
    Jessica
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,259
    Likes Received:
    306
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Calif. SF Bay area
    Last Seen:
    Today at 1:53 PM
    Real Name:
    Jessica
    IMO, your tank looks fine as is. I have black gravel in my 120. It looks nice initially, and in a way it still does, but the tanks looks too dark. I have natural gravel in my 100, and the fish look nice too. Keep the natural look, I would not change it.
     
  8. the loach

    the loach AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Last Seen:
    27 minutes ago
    Fair point by Tanker, your issue might actually be your lighting. I see you have the apple juice thing going on. Either you have lots of tannins in the water or your lighting doesn't have the proper color temperature and CRI. Unfortunately few people have, as there aren't that many choices with leds and fluorescents. But anything under 6500K and 88CRI will make a tank look like this. If you have lots of tannins as well... you need a CRI over 95 with leds or fluorescents over 8000K to counter this.
    And remember... no specification by the manufacturer = poor specification.
     
  9. enrique4jc

    enrique4jc AC Members

    Real Name:
    Eric
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russell Springs, KY
    Last Seen:
    Today at 8:52 AM
    Real Name:
    Eric
    This is very possible. I thought about that more after posting last night. I put some turquoise rainbows into quarantine in a 10 gallon with black "moon sand" and a Beamswork LED. Fresh from about an hour in the bag, I thought their colors looked better than the two currently in my tank. My mind went to substrate, but the lighting could be it. Or they could just be better fish. I want to see how they look in comparison when moved into the main tank.
     
  10. enrique4jc

    enrique4jc AC Members

    Real Name:
    Eric
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russell Springs, KY
    Last Seen:
    Today at 8:52 AM
    Real Name:
    Eric
    Not tannins I'm pretty sure.
     

Share This Page