Cory Fin Loss

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Falconfree

AC Members
Mar 9, 2017
Let me preface this with saying I'm pretty new to fish, so bear with me if I say something stupid and give too many/too few details. ;)

I have two albino cories that had severe fin loss about a month ago. I woke up one morning, and one had pretty much no tail or dorsal fin, and the other had very little dorsal fin. I immediately thought it was one of the two male guppies in the tank, because one of them was a big bully. I'd seen him harassing the albinos before, but didn't notice any damage until that morning. The cories were also pretty lethargic. I moved both guppies to another tank that day, and treated the tank with Melafix for a week (on the advice of Dr. Google, since I thought at the time it was because of the guppy), along with twice weekly water changes to keep the water extra clean to encourage fin regrowth. The cories perked up a lot after a few days, and I could see some (very slow) fin regrowth happening on both. I treated with Melafix for a week (as per the label).

Today, one of the cories is almost fully healed, but the other one's tail is suddenly super short again. It doesn't look like fin rot, from looking at photos online, but again, I'm such a newbie it is entirely possible I am just not seeing it. His tail is like someone took a knife sliced it cleanly off. Trying to get a picture, but not having much luck thus far.