Dominant Tetra

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

icepop

Registered Member
Apr 10, 2003
Montr?al
www.snografx.ca
I recently started my first aquarium. It's a very small 5.5 gallon tank which has been running for a couple weeks now. On the weekend I bought my first fish: two head & tail light tetra and one black neon tetra (suggested by the girl at the pet store).

I am very new to the hobby and don't know very much about fish behaviour. It seems to me that one of the head & tail light tetras seems to be dominant over the other two. It tends to eat the most and chases the other two into separate corners of the tank while it occupies the central portion of the tank. The other two swim around a bit but tend to spend a lot of time in opposite and sometimes the same corner of the tank.

Is this common behaviour for tetras? Does anyone have any suggestions or advice?

Update: I just noticed that the other head & light tetra has nipped fins. Apparently the other tetra has been chasing him and acting fairly agressive. I am worried. What should I do about the fins?

morleyz

This space for rent
Sep 26, 2002
Illinois
www.allaquatic.com
Keep a close eye on the fins for signs of infection. If you see any redness or white fuzzy stuff...try out some melafix...seems to be a good all around tonic for stuff like that.

Anyway, you might want to shake things up a bit in the tank. Try rearranging the decorations if you have a bunch. Maybe add some if you have space. Keep the lights to a minimum for a week or two.

If it gets too bad, put in a divider for a while until everyone is healthy and then rearrange the decor again before removing the divider...hopefully the sub-dominant ones will be a little more adept at fending for themselves.

Dr.Guppy

AC Members
Apr 10, 2003
Bromley, UK
Visit site