Firemouth with white spot on eye

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Kristin1277

Registered Member
Jan 28, 2017
Hi everyone, newbie here, I apologize if this is in the wrong order place but I just noticed my diremouth has a white spot on its eye. It has become very aggressive and is targeting my synodontis. I included a pic- any undead if it's an infection or a wound from fighting??

40 gallon wide
1 firemouth
1 synodontis
3 angelfish
2 albino corys

All living together past 2 years no new additions

IMG_0296.JPG

IMG_0293.JPG

fishorama

AC Members
Jun 28, 2006
SF Bay area, CA
Well, to me, it doesn't look so awfully terrible, likely able to heal. I never kept syno cats with cichlids, firemouths are fairly mellow...for cichlids...as are angels.

I'd go for lots of water changes before freaking out or treating with something

Frank Castle

AC Members
Feb 9, 2017
use Fishbiotic's Penicillin for any and all Eye-related issues. It treats Gram+ and Gram- bacteria so unfortunately it kills BENEFICIAL Bacteria as well.

Needless to say, treat the fish-in-need in a separate hospital tank. Do NOT use Penicillin in your main tank or it will wipe out your bio-filter

As with most medications, remove carbon/charcoal elements and turn off UV-Sterilizers before administering

Tifftastic

"With your powers combined . . ."
Sep 9, 2008
Glasgow, Scotland
Real Name
Tiff
But what if it is not bacterial and just an injury? Treating with antibiotics "just to be safe" isn't really a good plan as this is what leads to antibiotic resistant bacterial strains. It really is best to just start with water changes and observe. There's nothing here that screams "bacterial infection! Administer medication now."

Frank Castle

AC Members
Feb 9, 2017