FO 40 gallon tank idea?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Xyzzy

Registered Member
Apr 29, 2005
Arkansas
Despite lurking for a while, I have never posted here before, but I have decided to try something new. The problem is the more I research things the more confused I get and the more expensive it all looks.

I have several years of experience keeping freshwater tropical fish and I understand the chemistry part and taking care of them. All of my setups have been very simple but not very imaginative. However, the fish did very well and I think they were "happy" fish.

I have never done a saltwater aquarium and I am really not ready to do a full-on monstrous reef tank. I would prefer to do a fish-only tank and once I am comfortable with that perhaps move on to more complicated stuff.

I already have a new 40 gallon breeder tank with a glass lid and a durable metal stand for this project.

What I envision for the tank is a deep layer of "live" sand as a substrate, some sort of bright, wavy, live grassy plant all over the place and 5-7 Chromis viridis fish swimming through it.

I am willing to buy a proper filter and lighting and equipment, especially if it is good quality stuff that will last for a long time. I do not have a budget set for this but it would be nice to not waste money. I prefer to buy the right equipment first rather than buy crap equipment several times before having to buy the good stuff.