Help: Starting Plants in My 125 Gallon

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Claire Vaughan

AC Members
Apr 15, 2017
Las Cruces, NM
Real Name
Laura
I'm taking the plunge to try live plants in my 125 gallon tank. I have already planted 4. I don't know what they are yet. I'm not good at the scientific names.
The burning questions are; 1) Is a CO2 infuser necessary for growing live plants? 2) My sub-straight is 1/2 smooth river rock. Do I need to change that? My lights are T8. That is as far as my knowledge goes right now.
I will post some picture of the plants I have soon.

OrionGirl

No freelancing!
Aug 14, 2001
Poconos
Real Name
Sheila
What do you want to achieve with plants? Are they the focus, supplemental for cleaning, or decorative? What fish will or are in there currently?

CO2 isn't required for all planted tanks, but if your goal is to have a lush forest, it definitely helps. Some plants won't do as well without it, but CO2 is just one part of the equation. All my tanks are planted, none are currently running CO2 since I don't have any quick growing plants and don't fertilize.

On substrate, it will dictate what plants will do well. Do you mean half inch river rock? If so, avoid stem plants and rooted plants. Go for anubias and java ferns that will attach to large rocks or pieces of wood. With large rocks for substrate, anything with roots won't be able to stay planted, and won't get the nutrients needed. It will also be very difficult to clean the rocks without tearing up plants.

Reactions: fishorama

FreshyFresh

Global Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2013
West Falls NY
Real Name
Joel