help

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

dumplingman1212

Registered Member
Jan 7, 2021
Hello sorry about this but Im new to reddit but I'm in desperate help I have a 50 gallon fish tank with nothing in it not even gravel It has a Marineland filter off the back with a canister filter model number 207 and my ammonia levels are crazy as soon as I test it the water changes too dark green basically a teal. the tank has been running for about 4 weeks I've done everything help

Wyomingite

Fish Wrangler
Oct 16, 2008
Wonderful Windy Wyoming
Real Name
Ivan
Hello sorry about this but Im new to reddit but I'm in desperate help I have a 50 gallon fish tank with nothing in it not even gravel It has a Marineland filter off the back with a canister filter model number 207 and my ammonia levels are crazy as soon as I test it the water changes too dark green basically a teal. the tank has been running for about 4 weeks I've done everything help
Well, this isn't Reddit, so welcome to Aquaria Central. ;)

I looked on the Marineland website and can't find that model. In the end it shouldn't really matter because the same rules and concepts apply to all filters. I have some questions before I can really help.

1. Do you know how many gph it filters?

2. What kind of filter media do you have in the filter?

3. Did you use any kind of product like Safestart or others to seed the tank?

4. Have you seen any nitrites or are you starting to see any, or are you just seeing ammonia?

That's a good start.

WYite

Reactions: Sprinkle

FishAddict74

AC Members
Dec 8, 2020
One other question in addition to the others is did you clean the tank and filters before you set it up? If so, did you use any product?
Also have you tested your tap water before it goes into the tank?