Is my tank overloaded

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Megs.G

AC Members
Jun 6, 2019
Hi All,

Nice to join you. I am kind of new to the hobby and have some questions.
I have 50 gallons tank and my concerns are if it is not overloaded. So far there are:

2 Angelfish
3 Colisa lalia
4 Platies
5 Cory
2 Otocinclus
1 Sewellia
1 Pleco
2 Kuhli

I really want to have Rams, but Im not sure if it is not full already. What do you think?

Sploke

resident boozehound
Staff member
Oct 20, 2005
South Windsor, CT
Real Name
Matt
I personally wouldn't add any more to that tank, mostly because of the platies. Unless you have all males or all females, you are going to end up with lots of them. The angelfish might keep the fry in check, but might not. Also - what kind of pleco? Depending on the species, that one fish has the potential to make a big mess of the tank as it grows.

Reactions: Megs.G

Megs.G

AC Members
Jun 6, 2019
I personally wouldn't add any more to that tank, mostly because of the platies. Unless you have all males or all females, you are going to end up with lots of them. The angelfish might keep the fry in check, but might not. Also - what kind of pleco? Depending on the species, that one fish has the potential to make a big mess of the tank as it grows.

It is starlight ancistrus.
I suppose the fry from the platies will be eaten by all the other fish.

Sploke

resident boozehound
Staff member
Oct 20, 2005
South Windsor, CT
Real Name
Matt
Ok, so luckily that is a smaller species and doesn't look like a particularly messy one, so that shouldn't be a big issue. So right now, adding some rams would probably be fine, but you'll need to keep an eye on the platy population, it can explode pretty quickly. Do you know what sex all four platies are?

Megs.G

AC Members
Jun 6, 2019