Need serious help with lighting

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Kallie

AC Members
Apr 27, 2016
Hi so i am new here and really need some help !

I am new to planted tanks!
And I am struggling with the lighting

My plan is to setup a low tech tank (No fancy setups like Co2 and any other stuff like that ((only because I live in a small town in South Africa the nearest big city is about a 60 km drive ))

My tank is 12" x 12"x 43"
Substrate: layers of (organic potting soil, blue clay, swimming pool sand )
No plants yet
No livestock

I have access to standard T8 30w lights.
Please help on how many bulbs do I need pleas!!

Tifftastic

"With your powers combined . . ."
Sep 9, 2008
Glasgow, Scotland
Real Name
Tiff
Do you know what kind of plants you'll be doing yet? That is really going to make a difference. Also, are those dimensions LxWxH? Because that's a really tall tank and that could be an issue using T8s to get it properly lit.

rufioman

"That guy"
Aug 16, 2010
Northern Arizona, USA.
Real Name
Heath
^word for word what I'd have said. Some plants need higher amounts of light, some do not. Find out which plants work best for your low-tech, I use Anubias and Amazon swords. I use a generic high output t8 light :)

Kallie

AC Members
Apr 27, 2016
The dimensions is WxHxL its a long but shallow tank
I can't use Amazon swords as it grows 6 feat tall
I am planning on java moss, javafern,hornworth and some plants native to south africa its 6/7 species of plants that doesn't grow taller then 12 inches and they don't need high lighting they all are medium to low

I am really struggling to know how much bulbs i need

Kallie

AC Members
Apr 27, 2016
The dimensions is WxHxL its a long but shallow tank
I can't use Amazon swords as it grows 6 feat tall