Root tabs or fertilized substrated for carpet plants?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Dan89

AC Members
Jan 3, 2017
I have to pick up the substrate for my future tank, which will have several carpet plants (Hemianthus Callitrichoudes, Staurogyne Repens). I have 2 options:

1) Fertilized substrate (Dennerle DeponitMix) + Quartz gravel 1/2mm
2) Quartz gravel 1/2mm + root tabs

What i fear about fertilized substrate is the possible mixing with the gravel in case of change to the layout or replating of some plants, so this makes me lean towards option 2. But my concern is that root tabs won't be as effective as the fertilized substrate.

What do you think? Can the root tabs perfectly substitute the fertilized substrate maintaining the same effectiveness?

fishorama

AC Members
Jun 28, 2006
SF Bay area, CA
Well, I have limited experience with those plants but they didn't seem happy for me in Eco Complete & roots tabs...for long, no co2. I have not done a fert/soil substrate. Stauro was much, much better than HC...I want to say "almost" good...but not really long term.

What lighting? Mine were "mid-range" T-5s at best. CO2? that can make all the difference...from what I hear, but haven't done, yet (soon).

Dan89

AC Members
Jan 3, 2017
Lightning is Not a problem (104w on 100 net liters) and I will have CO2.

As mentioned, my only doubt is wether to provider root fertilization by fertilized substrate or by root tabs

OrionGirl

No freelancing!
Aug 14, 2001
Poconos
Real Name
Sheila
I prefer the substrate, since that doesn't require disturbng the carpet to replace the root tabs. Root tabs are great for plants like crypts and swords, where some of the substrate will be exposed. Less ideal with carpet.

Kuhli Loach 11

Registered Member
Dec 30, 2016