Semi self-sustainable dwarf puffer tank

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

WhaleSharkKeeper

Registered Member
Aug 17, 2018
Hi all,

I am a newbie in this forum. I have been keeping a heavily planted 22-gallon dwarf puffer tank with 5 dwarf puffers and 5 amano shrimps for 16 months.

I was keeping them along with a population of snails and some blackworms living in the tank. I brought 10-20 ramshorn snails or pond snails and 1 tablespoon of live blackworms every month-ish. The worms burrowed in the sand and the snails were eating algae. When the worms and snails almost disappear I brought new ones.

I thought the puffers and shrimps generally looked happy, sometimes laying eggs and showing bright and clear coloration.

One of the shrimps jumped out(it was mysterious. My tank has a cover. My guess is it jumped out while I was changing water) of the tank and one was found dead in the tank so far. A puffer who looked weaker than others died about four months ago and yesterday a healthy-looking puffer was found dead. No visible patches or decoloration was found. Thus there are three puffers and three shrimps left. Is this considered normal? I am worried and would like to know if I could improve anything. I wonder if they died because of their age or due to any other reason. Is there anyone who has experience with self-sustaining dwarf puffer fish tank?

Thank you!

Rbishop

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 30, 2005
Real Name
Mr. Normal
Any tank readings from a good liquid test kit?

the loach

AC Members
Aug 6, 2018
Define "self sustaining".
The death of your puffers may not have been something that you had control over. Large scale commercial bred ornamental fish nowadays are generally of poor quality. Many species are just a poor shade of what their hardiness and color was a couple of decades ago.