Sick Acarichthys Heckelii - Please Help!

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

confusedinnh

Registered Member
May 1, 2014
So I'm somewhat new to fish keeping - I had goldfish in the past, and recently switched to a tropical tank. I found a really neat looking fish at my local fish shop, a geophagus heckelii - I bought it, brought it home, and all was fine for 3 weeks. I have a 45 gallon tank with a canister filter, I keep it at 79 degrees, and I have a 12" air stone with a 40 gal pump (which the shop said was fine for my tank). Previous to getting the heckelii, I had 2 x-ray tetras, 2 red-finned tetras, 2 diamond tetras, a bamboo shrimp, 2 dwarf guaramis (1 red, 1 blue), and 2 spotted corys to eat the excess food off the bottom. I got the heckelii and everything was great for 3 weeks - at that time, my local fish shop said that 4-5 jewel cichlids would round my tank out nicely, so I bought 4 jewels this past Saturday. That's when everything went wrong.

My heckelii immediately got territorial and started chasing around the jewels (who don't seem to be the aggressors at all, they run away from the heckelii). He ate an x-ray tetra (I replaced it) and the bamboo shrimp, then ate another x-ray. I returned 2 of the jewels. So currently, my setup is 1 x-ray tetra, 2 dward guaramis (1 of which is currently recovering in a baby breeding net because the red guarami was picking on it and eating its back fin pretty bad), 2 jewels, 2 diamond tetras, 2 red-finned tetras, and 2 spotted corys.