Stocking a 29 gallon tank

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Colton

AC Members
Jun 28, 2017
Ok, so I am new to fish keeping and have recently purchased a 29 gallon tank! So far in my fish tank I have 1 rainbow shark, 7 neon tetras, 1 bristle nose pleco, 2 male fancy guppies, and 2 nerite snailes. What would be some advice for stocking, do I have any more room or should I stop?

myswtsins

Global Moderator
Jun 15, 2008
Central NJ
Real Name
Jen
Camera Used
Canon PowerShot SX260 HS
Welcome to AC and to the hobby!

Is the tank fully cycled? (nitrogen cycle). Do you have test results from a liquid test kit? When talking stocking levels it is all about test results.

But in general.... the shark is going to be a problem. They are semi-aggressive and get rather large at 6". It will not only (usually) terrorize your other fish but will eat your neons and possibly your nerites. Plus it should be in something larger than a 29g long term. These "sharks" do best in a semi-aggressive tank setup, not a community setup.

Without the shark you definitely have room for more fish though. :)

Colton

AC Members
Jun 28, 2017
Yes, I believe the tank is fully cycled. I assume by test results you mean ammonia test and last time I tested the ammonia was at .25 however I just did a 25% water change. As far as the shark goes he has been friendly and I have never seen him attack any other fish (unless a pleco was in his territory then he chased it out).

SirMuffin

AC Members
Sep 11, 2011
The ammonia and nitrite levels should be 0 if the tank is fully cycled. Yeah the shark seems friendly now but it's when he starts to grow older and get bigger that he'll become aggressive. If the ammonia is still at. 25 I might suggest another water change.

myswtsins

Global Moderator
Jun 15, 2008
Central NJ
Real Name
Jen
Camera Used
Canon PowerShot SX260 HS