Get Your MonsterFishKeepers Cap

Welcome to AquariaCentral.com

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. You will be entering into a wonderful world of aquatic information, for all aquarists, no matter what their experience level.

Our members will do their best to help you in your aquarium endeavors. We have a vast assortment of Forums to dive into:

-General Freshwater
-Marine and Brackish area
-Terrarium and Vivariums
-Coldwater
-DIY, Classifieds, Members Tanks Photographs and more.

We even have a general area, that is just as much fun as the rest of the Community, for off topic discussions and a real-time chat room for instant advice!

Joining Aquaria Central has numerous benefits, but the best, is our 112,000+ members, helping one another in this fascinating hobby!

Register now, and be sure to check out our scheduled contests with exciting prizes!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! !

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Welcome to the Internet's friendliest aquatic forum!

- Team AC

  1. Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Tank upgrade

Discussion in 'Cichlids' started by Beverlley, Dec 15, 2017.

  1. Beverlley

    Beverlley Registered Member

    Real Name:
    Beverley
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Leicester UK
    Last Seen:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Real Name:
    Beverley
    Hi,
    I currently have a Juwel Rio 125 litre (33 US Gallons) tropical tank which has been established since 2008. I do 26 litre weekly water change (6 US Gallons) and add aquarium salt and Aqua Safe..
    I am upgrading to a Juwel Trigon 190 litre tank (50 US Gallons) The filters in the new tank are exactly the same as the old one. The new tank will be set up for Peacock Chiclids I've been told I can put the old filters into the new tank with some of the gravel and approx 50 litres (13 US Gallons) of the tank water and top up with fresh water, leave it running for a week then check readings and if all ok add fish. It makes sense to me but is it correct? Also can someone give me the correct Nitrate, Nitrite, Ammonia and PH range levels for Chicllids.

    Thanks
     
  2. Rbishop

    Rbishop ...and over the edge.
    Staff Member

    Real Name:
    Mr. Normal
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    40,042
    Likes Received:
    272
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Last Seen:
    Yesterday at 2:49 PM
    Real Name:
    Mr. Normal
    I would just use the filter media in the old tank, in the new tank. And some of the gravel. Fresh dechlor'd water, no need to use water from old tank.Ammonia,nitrite should be at zero and nitrate levels...less than 20, depending on your feeding habits and water change routine. There is no set in stone level for pH for "cichlids". Depending on which lake they are from, it may vary, as well as if you are breeding. Along with what your tap runs.
     
    Beverlley likes this.
  3. tanker

    tanker Josh Holloway--Be mine!!!

    Real Name:
    Jessica
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,266
    Likes Received:
    306
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Calif. SF Bay area
    Last Seen:
    50 minutes ago
    Real Name:
    Jessica
    I agree with Bishop on the set-up.
    You would Ammonia and Nitrite to be zero, and (ideally) Nitrates as low as possible.
    PH near 8.0 is best for peacocks.
     
    Beverlley likes this.
  4. Beverlley

    Beverlley Registered Member

    Real Name:
    Beverley
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Leicester UK
    Last Seen:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Real Name:
    Beverley
    Hi,
    Thanks for reply very helpful as was tanker's reply.
    I only used about 16 litres of original water. I've dechlor'd water and added aquarium salt. I have used large substrate (looks like old bones) I rinsed the substrate thoroughly and scrubbed the rock with tap water. The water is cloudy at the moment is this normal? Tanks been running for about 12 hours now. Not sure if cloudiness is due to LED Multilux day and nature lighting. Water seems clear when lights are off. Very concerned about cloudy water, any ideas why it looks cloudy when lights are on but seems clear when lights are off and if you look into the tank from above. Or could there be another reason?
    I decided not to use the 3d internal background as I was worried about algae forming after a period of time and as background is glued to tank would not be able to remove it. I decided to use the stick on exterior background, used before with no problems, but not this time despite spending an eternity making sure there was no bubbles. When lights are on bloody bubbles everywhere. :( not too worried about this though will apply my mind to covering it somehow. Unless you have any ideas.
    Sorry about long post.
    Beverley
     
  5. myswtsins

    myswtsins Global Moderator
    Staff Member

    Real Name:
    Jen
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    381
    Trophy Points:
    92
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Central NJ
    Last Seen:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Real Name:
    Jen
    Camera Used:
    Canon PowerShot SX260 HS
    Cloudiness when first setup isn't abnormal especially depending on the type of substrate. Add some filter floss to the filter and maybe some activated carbon to pull any extra stuff out. It looks worse with the light on cause then you can see what's going on lol. It sounds funny but the light reflect/refracts off the particles making them more visible then when the lights are off.

    If you are going to wait a week to add the fish then make sure you are feeding the bacteria or it will die off some. Just feed the tank like you would if it had the fish in it already.

    Personally I would be hesitant to put peacocks in that tank and I have african cichlid experience. Considering you asked what the ammonia, nitrite and nitrate levels should be for "cichlids" I have to assume you have not kept them before as those levels are the same for every freshwater fish 0,0,<40 at the most. What you really want to know is GH,KH and pH which the answer to that is as long as there is some hardness (both general and carbonate 10+) and the water is pretty alkaline (7.8+) then stability is actually the most important factor. They come from VERY stable water conditions.

    African cichlids are not a beginner fish so extra research may be needed. Prepared with the right knowledge they are super rewarding fish.

    EDIT: re-reading this it sounds harsh. I don't mean it be though, I just suck at communicating. lol
     

Share This Page

zoomed.com
hikariusa.com
aqaimports.com
Store