Trigger, Lion, Puffer compatibility

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Rudy

Over my head
Dec 3, 2002
MA
Visit site
Hi - I've been keeping a anemone and some simple corals for several years along with my tangs and anemone fish. I would like to add one or two triggers, and Puffer, and Lion to add some character to our aquarium. I have had them all in the past, but only a Blue Throat trigger within my reef setup. I would like to acquire the following specimens, Picasso or Clown trigger, Porcupine Puffer, Volitan Lion. I fully understand they and my motile invertebrates; shrimp, snails, crabs, stars, etc., will be incompatible. I am prepared to deal with this matter. However, I am uncertain which, if any of my corals; leather, green star, frogspawn, or anemones; BTAs and Long Tentacle will be in jeopardy?

An experiential knowledge anyone is wiling to share will be appreciated.

Regards

TL1000RSquid

AC Members
Apr 6, 2011
NY
I'd not do the triggers with coral, and eventually it will get aggressive and likely kill the lionfish, I know they wont eat leathers not sure about the other stuff but their rock moving habits could put corals and nem's at risk. Lion wont bother corals, neither should the puffer.

tanker

Josh Holloway--Be mine!!!
Sep 1, 2003
Calif. SF Bay area
Visit site
Real Name
Jessica
I'd not do the triggers with coral, and eventually it will get aggressive and likely kill the lionfish, I know they wont eat leathers not sure about the other stuff but their rock moving habits could put corals and nem's at risk. Lion wont bother corals, neither should the puffer.
None of those (IMO) would do well with coral. The triggers would not eat the coral, but pick at it till all of the coral are dead,
A Picasso or Clown can and may kill the Lion, they see it as compitition for food.
The waste from a large fish (Lion, puffer, ect) will probably effect the water chem and kill the coral.