Yes, Another question by me..... ;)

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

mudskippers

AC Members
Jun 1, 2007
Tempe, AZ
Alright... Well here is another question by me... Yes, I will admit it im a noob to aquatic plants :p :newbie:

How long would you guys reccomend that I keep my light on?

I only have a few plants in there, so I dont want to have the light on too long... Thease are the plants that i currently have in there atm....
-2 bunches of java fern
-1 anubias coffefoila
-some micro sword
-5 bunches of some type of rotala

I was thinking maybe keeping my light on somewhere around 9~10hours... what do you guys think??

mudskippers

AC Members
Jun 1, 2007
Tempe, AZ
8-10 hours. mine are on 10 hours. most people stay within the 8-14 hour range.
lol, 8~14hour range... thats a pretty big range... :y220d:

Slappy*McFish

Global Moderator
Staff member
Feb 18, 2002
Raleigh, NC
8 hrs for high light systems up to 12hrs for low light without too many problems.
14 hrs is hard core...lol.

pinkertd

May 29, 2007
New Jersey
Real Name
Debbi
I have low light set ups, all tanks 13 hours, plants and tank do beautifully.

Debbi:)

shaggbark

The rare and Elusive....Ninja Cod
Feb 12, 2007
Hopewell Jct. NY
I have a low light, 1 wpg tank. My lights are on one of those cheap timers. It goes on at 8 am and goes off at 9 PM BUT at noon, it shuts off for a two hour siesta. I read that this helps control algae, but once i started doing it I noticed that my shyer fish seemed to enjoy that time as well. My plants are doing very well. I have many anubias, java fern and even swords. My favorites are the larger leafed anubias 8) HTH, Michelle

geofied

Plant formerly known as Duckweed
Jan 22, 2007
Cleveland area, OH