Yet More Newbie Stocking Questions

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

MarkInNC

AC Members
Jun 16, 2009
Hampstead NC
Several posts to my first stocking questions and I am narrowing and optimising my thoughts. As a newbie I am interested in basics first then may move into both fish and plants that take additional knowledge and care.
A couple of people have suggested that at least the male swords are semi-aggressive and I have concluded Ill wait on them. I am assuming that a fish such as the Electric Yellow or a Goromi which grow to 3-4" will eat a smaller fish such a a 1.5" platie, (is this correct?). My water will likely be normally a bit high on pH and some minerals as I use well water. I have read about just changing to fish species that tolerate a higher pH. Well I have read a couple of charts and fish bios which do not talk about pH. I am looking at mollies, platies, guppies, tetras, and catfish as potential fish. Where would I find pH and tolerance info. I have also wondered about temperature. I am keeping the house in the mid seventies during the summer and the tank seems to be right in the middle of the green zone. This winter Ill allow the house temp to drop into the 65 range so Ill be dependant on the tank heater, any issues here?

thanks,

Mark

Lupin

Registered Member
Sep 21, 2006
Lupin Information Super Highway/Goldfish Informati
thegab.org
Real Name
Paul