View Full Version : Eco-aqualizer
slipknottin
03-11-2003, 1:04 PM
Though it is technically a product, it makes some claims that seem to indicate its "more" than just a filter, or water conditioner, or whatever you want to call it. There sending me a free unit, but I have absolutely no idea what to make of the thing.
http://www.ecoaqualizer.com
goldfish freak
03-11-2003, 1:12 PM
Hmm... I am curious as to why they are sending you a free unit? Why were they willing to do this?
slipknottin
03-11-2003, 1:15 PM
They sent 5 free units to the first five people on reefcentral that asked.
I guess they want to get their name out or something? :confused:
VoodooChild
03-11-2003, 1:17 PM
I asked for one too. I don't know what it is, but I want it! Tell me how's yours is if I don't get one.
wetmanNY
03-11-2003, 2:14 PM
The power of 'magnetism!" realligning the ions of water. Magnets made of the alloy of Neodymium Iron and Boron, as in this catalog: https://4ua.com/scitoys/cgi-bin/shop.exe?page=magnet_desc.html
If there's one thing that irritates the wetman more than aromatherapy it's got to be feng-shui chemistry... but I'd like a set of toy levitating magnets, please.
I hope you guys get a long written exposition of how this works! It's not electrical, remember...
mumble mumble grumble grump...
slipknottin
03-11-2003, 2:20 PM
You know what sucks most of all?
There is no governing body overseeing the marketing of devices for our hobby. You can claim a product will do anything and everything and wont get in trouble unless pursued with a class action lawsuit.
wetmanNY
03-11-2003, 3:40 PM
Oh no, slipknottin, I totally disagree! Caveat emptor! -- "Let the buyer beware"-- was that set in mosaic in the floor of the market at Pompeii.?.. I think so...
It's up to us. It's always dangerous to ask the authorities to protect us from our own gullible natures. Dangerous stuff, dangerous information, dangerous images...
Besides, I like to read the kind of pseudo-science that would get your knuckles whacked at AquariaCentral.
But you guys are really looking this gift horse in the teeth here...
(snicker...)
wetmanNY
04-17-2003, 6:17 PM
Hey, we haven't heard lately about the "Eco-Aqualizer" but I've just found a really excellent site maintained by Simon Fraser U., Burnaby BC, Canada called "Water pseudoscience and quackery" that really helps you disentangle watery scams and parascience, while it gives you some basics about the nature of water and of water "hardness": http://www.sfu.ca/aqua/
Just one link from this great site got me to the Dihydrogen Monoxide website. An eyeopener! http://www.dhmo.org/facts.html
carpguy
04-17-2003, 6:57 PM
I laughed, I cried, I did both at once :D
That chelation really works!