125 gal Goby tank build

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

MurphysAquarist

AC Members
Oct 17, 2011
Fayetteville, AR, USA
Real Name
James
Added a video of the currents. The tank is clearing up nicely. Looking for stocking inhabitants now and have made some email contacts toward that end. I don't know the proper way to post youtube vids but this link works. Pay no attention to the heavy breathing. The guy who shot the vid was very excited. LOL

http://youtu.be/h4u-48T4oyI

Mark
I've been looking at the different stream setups on here (found a grand total of 2 now) and I'd like to do something similar in the future. Now I have no experience with powerheads but I had a thought (shocker I know). You said you were looking for differing currents and eddies, what about staggering the height of the powerheads? It would make no difference with the intakes but making the heads at different heights should "mess up" the flow giving you eddies and such. In fact, I think it would be very similar to nature with the water coming from over rocks and uneven stream bed. Any thoughts pro or con? Do like your tank very much in case I hadn't already said so. :)

aquaponicpaw

AC Members
Dec 12, 2011
beautifull tank and great Job on the manifold. The guy who developed this design was actually the first to get Hillstream Loaches to breed in a tank. I wish you the bestt of luck with that.[video=youtube_share;h4u-48T4oyI]http://youtu.be/h4u-48T4oyI[/video]

wesleydnunder

Discus Addict
Dec 11, 2005
Gulf Coast Texas
Real Name
Mark
I love the scape, btw. So you used the plumbing just because you wanted to try it out, cool. I was just curious about it is all :) May I ask why you want lots of eddies?