30 Gal,FOWLR,Newbie,Help

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

SaltyDog52

AC Members
Sep 13, 2009
Hello all!
I am going shopping today for a new salt water setup.
I did some resaerch, but that was before I found this site and I am asking your help.
Here is a checklist I made to get started. Any advice would be appreciated. One day maybe going to reef....????

Tank and stand, obviously
Heater and Thermometer
Hydrometer
Crushed Coral
20 lbs Live Rock - How do you cure it?
Proper Light for Live Rock
Any additives for live rock
Power heads - but I don't know what brand??
Protein Skimmer but I don't know what size or brand? Are the easy to set up and maintain?
Instant Ocean

Anything I am missing?
How long do you leave lights on?

masterchef518

AC Members
Feb 6, 2006
im a salty newb to but i would say if at all possible get fully cured rock if you cant get that where ever you get the rock from will tell you how to cure it, also i would not do crushed coral i have read some bad things about it i went with live sand i would reccomend a t5 ho light my guy told me its a good allaroun light it mimics day light and you can grow coral with it as for the protien skimmer i would say dont get one yet untill you start putting fish in. ps where do you plan on buying all this and whats instant ocean?

tanker

Josh Holloway--Be mine!!!
Sep 1, 2003
Calif. SF Bay area
Visit site
Real Name
Jessica
Where you located?? I tore down my SW tank last year, may still have some stuff left.

1)Get a refractor instead od hydrometer.
2) Get cured LR if you can, if not just cure in a plastic tub or in tank.
3) PH -- I like Maxi-jets.
4) You need test kits.
5) Is it a reef or FOWLR??
6) LR does not need special light or additive.
7) A Ramora C is a good skimmer for a 30gal (PS--I still have two I can sell cheap---Depending on where you are).

DoctaQ

all your wheel are belong to us
Dec 12, 2008
Boston