RODI confusion

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

ThatNewFishGuy

AC Members
May 4, 2010
I have a 50 gpd coral life pur flo 2 RODI unit that I have been using for the past 2 years. I recently just picked up a 75 gpd RODI unit from a local reefer because he was selling it cheap and it came with alot of things that my unit didn't have(built in tds, flush kit, float valve setup with extra water storage.

What is the difference between a 50 gpd unit and 75 gpd unit. Is it just the amount of gallons of RODI water you can produce in 24 hours? I've read that in higher GPD systems, the water has less contact time with some of the stages and is thus slightly less pure than lower GPD systems.

My plan was to just take the goodies off the 75 gph and put them on my current unit but then I thought, wait a sec maybe 75 gph is better. I'm not sure though.

greech

AC Moderators
May 13, 2009
Tallahassee, FL
Real Name
Graham
They won't be any differnce in the water quality produced by a properly functioning 50 gpd and a 75 gpd unit. The 75 gpd will just make water 50% faster.

Russ
Yep and how that happens has to do with the membrane. The 75 gpd should have a slightly larger memebrane or multiple membranes.

Narwhal72

AC Members
Aug 13, 2009
The larger RO unit will have more windings around the membrane (more surface area for water to pass through means more water flow). It will also have a different flow restrictor which will maintain the higher pressure at the higher water flow.

Andy

ThatNewFishGuy

AC Members
May 4, 2010
I see. In that case I guess ill start using the 75 gpd unit. Well i guess I should check the price difference in membranes first...also, what and where is the flow restrictor piece that I hear a lot of talk about