Is my 29g Community Tank Overstocked?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

kylekylekyle

AC Members
May 31, 2014
Im Just starting out with my first planted tank and im addicted! its a 29 gal and i'm wanting to know if it's is badly over stocked or just slightly, Either way im pretty sure im pushing it. Also i was wanting to add a bamboo shrimp to complete the tank and wanted any opinions on the idea, Thanks Alot!

I have a 30gph and a 50 gph filter on it with an underwater whisper pump attached to a hose to increase the flow near the bottom. The bottom is white sand over a layer or activ-flora substrate with 13 plants growing and 7 pieces of driftwood in it. heres the list of fish ive had for a couple weeks now,

1 Dwarf Gaurami
1 Male German Blue Ram
1 Spotted african leaf fish(perch)
1 yoyo loach
3 Hatchet fish
2 oto
1 Glass catfish
3 corries
2 fancy guppys
2 borneo suckers
2 swamp darters
4 neon tetras
9 Ghost shrimp

I change about 20% of the water weekly and feed them frozen brine shrimp along with flake food and an algea pellet every now and then and there is always very little waste that accumulates on the bottom, almost none at all.
Thanks Alot!
Water
Nitrite 0.0
Nitrate 20
PH 7.0
Carbonate Hardness 80
General hardness 120

-Kyle

WP_20140528_17_48_07_Pro[1].jpg WP_20140528_23_32_16_Pro[1].jpg

jasonfishaddict

AC Members
Jun 18, 2010
I live in King William county Virginia, USA
Real Name
Jason
I also have a planted 29g and I think mine is overstocked. Here's my stock list:
6 Cherry Barbs
5 Asian Glass Catfish
3 False Julii Corydoras
1 SA Bumblebee Catfish
1 Albino Bristlenose
I know you're gonna say you don't have any problems but you will. I plan on reducing my stock level a little; a few of these fish weren't part of my original plan.
I'm sure the folks here will pick you apart but they mean well.

Sent from my iPhone using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

henningc

AC Members