SW newbie coming over from the dark side...

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

SuperiorMN

AC Members
Sep 18, 2005
Duluth, MN
Hi all,
I've been toying with the idea of a saltwater setup ever since I started reading some of the journals on here. I'm familiar with freshwater planted tanks, and I bought a used 30g to set up as a freshwater tank a while ago. Then I found reefcentral.com, and its gone downhill (or uphill, depending ;)) since then.

I would really love to set up a tank, but because I'm away at college, I probably won’t live in the same house every year. So, if I set it up at my rented house, I would have to move it every year for the next 2-3 years. I’m a sophomore, but Chemical Engineering isn’t exactly a 4 year program, unless you’re insane. That’s why I’ve been toying with the idea of pretty much getting this all ready to the point where I can sell it to someone, and they can buy sand/rock/salt and get it started. This is very appealing to me right now, because it gives me some experience, and it brings in some money. But, who knows, maybe I'll keep it.

So, here is what I have right now:
- Standard 30g, 36"x12"x16" (LxWxH)
- Standard 10g, 20"x10"x12"
Here is what I will probably be buying used when I visit my parents over Christmas:
- Eheim 2215
- 2x96W PC, one 10k bulb & one 50/50 bulb

I am planning on building a stand for the 30g that will include room for the 10g and eheim. What I need to know is, should I plan for a bulkhead/overflow/standpipe, or will I probably be able to use the Eheim’s stuff without all that? I was planning on using the 10g as a refugium and getting at least one powerhead to aid the eheim in mechanical filtration/water flow. Right now, it just looks like this, without a ‘skin’: