D.I.Y. 3D Background - How To - W.I.P.

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

DarkSoul

Mad Scientist
Mar 12, 2007
London, Ontario
After having made a couple of previous threads, and seeing that this seems to be a popular topic, I have decided to (finally) post the how-to thread on how to make one of these.

Please keep in mind, I am no expert on these by any stretch, and I am certainly no artist/sculpter etc. I'm just posting one of many ways to go about making these backgrounds.

Hopefully it will inspire others, as I was insipred, to take on the task of making one of these wonderful backgrounds.

The first thing you will need to do, is figure out what equipment you will have in your tank, and how your background might interfere with those objects.

I started measuring and cutting the foam board I was using, and it wasn't until much later that I remembered I had two UGF uptake tubes to account for.

This pink styrofoam is readily available at any Home Depot/Lowes/Rona/Etc for about $6 CAD per sheet, and each sheet is about 2' x 8'

As you can see here, I have measured and marked off where my intake tube and spraybar will be.

Once they were all marked off, I simply cut away what didn't need to be there :)

Now that I had everything cut, I needed to cover up the hole, and later on, the intake tube.

Using some foam pieces, and hot glue, I glued them together, and sanded them into shapes using 100 grit sandpaper. I think I was going for a plateau of sorts, but it still ended up looking really good. The two holes later on ended up becoming a single, larger hole.

I also made a little built in "cave" structure, which is proving to be a pain in the a** to cement/paint inside, and will be harder to seal.... So I am thinking of turning this into an extra inlet for my filters intake tube.

It was about this point where I realized that I had a UGF to deal with.