Substrate and Cycling

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

palmbreeze

Fish are friends...not food!
Jul 26, 2005
Ohio
I posted previously about setting up my new 5.5 gallon divided Betta aquarium. I have decided on the AquaClear mini filter, tronic heater, two male bettas (one on each side) and four ottos (two on each side). The water will be hard and the ph is usually high.

I'm not sure what type of plants I am going to get. Still up in the air on that.

The substrate I plan on using is Seachem Flourite mixed with a little black gravel. Will this be enough? I've read about different setups like soil/peat moss on the bottom and then more layers of different stuff. I am a beginner, and I don't think I am ready for a high tech tank yet. I was thinking of sand, but I have read that it can be a hassle for plants.

As for cycling.....I plan on fishless cycling. How do I go about setting this up? Do I just put the plants in right away or should I cycle the tank first? Do I fishless cycle the same way as I would a non planted tank?

Thanks for any advice. I'm kind of clueless when it comes to this (for now) and want to ask the experts. :D

djlen

Fish?.......What Fish?
Aug 19, 2002
Somerdale, New Jersey USA
Lighting (wattage)?
Unless things have changed, I think the only way Flourite comes is in a 15# bag. This would be more than enough for your tank. Or is there some reason that you want to add the black?
Adding a little peat moss and some mulm from another filter on the bottom is to establish a bio-colony and instantly age up the tank, so-to-speak. Then if you toss in a bunch of plants you are ready for one betta to kick things off with no need to cycle the tank.