Are danios mean?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Jacquelyn klonoski

Registered Member
Feb 22, 2016
I am new to the tank, bit was really excited to start learning more about my fish and the tank. My fiance got me a small tank with two tetras and one green danio.
My danio would swim about the tank, never just chillin. When I came home from work the two tetras where dead and the danio was fine.
My friend had surprised me and got me two more dani,1 blue and 1pink.
When I put them in they swam about then the green one started chasing them. The next day both new danios where dead and the green one is still fine.

I don't have the slightest idea what to do. My fiance thinks the green danio is attacking the other fish. Help?

FreshyFresh

Global Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2013
West Falls NY
Real Name
Joel
I would suspect a water quality issue as being the cause. Do you have a means to measure for ammonia, nitrite and nitrate in PPM? You need an API master test kit for this.

irishspy

There is a stargate in my aquarium.
I've never known danios to be mean, though I'm more familiar with zebras than the green variety. They do like to chase each other, however, and, if there are too few in the tank, they may chase other fish. Like FreshyFresh FreshyFresh , I'd suspect a water quality problem.

myswtsins

Global Moderator
Jun 15, 2008
Central NJ
Real Name
Jen
Camera Used
Canon PowerShot SX260 HS
Danios like a lot of fish will show minor "aggression" from time to time just to play or maybe establish a pecking order, all is usually harmless to other fish. They are better in a group so they spread that play around and don't over stress 1 or 2 fish. But before you go adding more fish....