Cherry Shrimp help

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

KayPru

AC Members
Jan 13, 2018
I'm having trouble keeping cherry shrimp and have tried a million different things to figure out what exactly is going on in my tank. I have some specific questions but I'm very new to the aquarium hobby so any advice would be awesome :)

Here's my set-up: I have a 10 Gallon aquarium with live plants(java fern, java moss, amazon sword and some hornwort), fluval shrimp stratum, five amano shrimp, two nerite snails, and a school of ember tetras. I have a testing kit and test the water once or twice a week and I do 10% water changes once a week. My pH is around a 6.8-7.0, the stratum keeps it low. My heater, which is a 50watt Tetra submersible heater, keeps the tank around a 78º-80º. I feed the shrimp algae wafers occasionally and feed the ember tetras a different food. I dose the aquarium once a week with the appropriate amount of the following:
API CO2 Booster
API Leaf Zone Fertilizer
Seachem Flourish
Aquavitro mineralize

Some Specific Questions:
I use an API pH down to lower my tap water pH, would it be better if I used bottled/jugged water from the store? If I did that, what products would I need in addition to the ones I already have to make it fish/plant friendly?
My ammonia/nitrate/nitrite levels are usually safe and if they approach dangerous levels I do an extra water change. My gH is a 6-9. My kH is 0, could I mix Seachem alkaline buffer to increase this? And would it increase my pH too much? Could I just use the API pH down to offset it or would that just negate the effects? Would there be a better product?