Craigslist Debacle

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

wamack

AC Members
Feb 1, 2008
Ok, I am new to having fish. I currently have two 10 gal tanks since xmas. one has 3 white skirt tetras and 3 platies. The other has a blue gourami and a crayfish. I have been reading on alot of different sites and learned a bunch. That is what responsible people do when they get a pet. I saw an ad today on craigslist that I couldn't resist. A 10 gal tank all of the equipment and "some" guppies free to good home. So I called the fellow. On the phone he tells me that he has very rare guppies. This I must see. So I grab a friend who is my resident fish expert as she is getting her degree in fisheries and we go to retrieve my new tank and rare guppies. What we found upon arriving was shocking. "some" guppies was a gross understatement. There were easily 100+ fish living in this 10 gal tank. Which appeared to have NEVER been cleaned. You could smell this tank from a mile away. The lights don't work and neither did the heater. The "rare" fish were SEVERELY deformed due to rampant inbreeding. It was a horrifying genetic science experiment sitting right here in this guys house and he had no clue. We took his goods anyway so as to at least rescue them from him. We came home and filled an old 2.5 gal tank with water and began to fish them out. Then we fished out the most deformed ones that could barely swim and flushed them since the LFS didn't want them to use as food. I kept 6 cute ones to put in my tanks and then we called around to everyone we know that may want guppies. We found homes for all. Suitable ones with people who know how many fish to keep in a tank. As for his scary tank...we have to tackle that tomorrow as rehoming these guppies took all afternoon. I am soooo mad. How can someone let this go on and never think to ask for help when it got overwhelming?

Coler

AC Members
Jan 30, 2007