• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Gianna

Registered Member
Sep 7, 2017
I have a recently started 7 gallon filtered/heated fresh tank which is moderately planted with leafy plants and has a fair amount of rocks and sand/gravel substrate. 1 female betta and a school of 6 white clouds. I am new to some of the long-term maintenance aspects and have some concerns about aerating and cleaning the substrate, especially as the tank is planted. I'm hearing some people who are vehemently against ever vacuuming or cleaning since it can deplete good bacteria/food for plants, while there are also accounts of increases in toxic gas if you don't.

My tentative maintenance plan is to test water 2x/weekly for ph, nitrate, nitrite and ammonia, and perform a weekly partial change of 25-30% of the water, as well as cleaning glass and rocks etc. as needed. The biggest concern of mine is whether to vacuum the substrate, and if so how much and how often.

I have considered also getting some kind of bottom feeders, fish or invertebrate, to aerate the sand, but don't want to increase biomass too much. I'm considering potentially nerite snails or amano shrimp for that but still researching compatibility with those. Some people mentioned cajun dwarf crayfish but others have said conflicting things about their temperament.

Does anyone have any recommendations for aerator/cleaner invertebrates, any advice about whether or not to vacuum, or other advice?

We are also considering the possible addition of a clown pleco or two down the road as there's a fair amount of driftwood in the tank, but I'm concerned about too much biomass with that, especially after getting a couple aerators/cleaners.

Thanks.

myswtsins

Global Moderator
Jun 15, 2008
Central NJ
Real Name
Jen
Camera Used
Canon PowerShot SX260 HS