deformed guppy/endler hybrids

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

thatcrazyfishcouple

Registered Member
Nov 22, 2016
Hi folks!

This is my first time posting in this forum but I have read several threads and learned lots from them so I thought I would come here first with questions from our latest venture. My boyfriend and I recently picked up a 30 gallon tank with fish, lights, heater, stand and everything, we had hoped to use this tank to move our guppies, lone molly, neon sword, sunburst tuxedo platy, and dwarf groumi out of our 75 gallon So our angels could have some friends more their own size. But the thirty gallon was crazy overstocked already with platies and guppies and apple snails. We took it home anyway figuring we could set another thirty gallon we already had and separate them into single species tanks. Once it was home and set up I took a closer look and noticed some deformities in the spines of many of the guppies.We ended up picking up a 55 gallon for 10$ with 2 heaters and an HOB filter. And that is currently set up and cycling with the deformed fish in it so they don't continue to breed with the healthy stock. Looking closer at the fish I pulled from the 30, I noticed the majority of them have markings and colours similar to the endlers livebearers (few large black dots and very vibrant colours) I had chocked up the deformities to inbreeding but now I'm wondering if this is a result of them being hybrids? Has anyone crossed these two fish and seen similar results?

dougall

Mar 29, 2005
Depending on point in time and perspective, endler's are guppies, or are their own species.

I doubt the deformities are due to hybridization, but maybe inbreeding, or maybe overstocking or water quality.