Filter not working, making terrible grinding noise

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

kjr928

Go fish yourself.
Came home last night to hear my Rena Filstar XP4 making a terrible grinding noise and the filter just wasn't working.

Unplugged it for the night & today I opened it up and rinsed all the filter media with tank water, looked for anything obvious that could be causing the problem, but saw nothing. The filter will not work.

WhAny ideas or suggestions? I'm not very handy in this dept so I don't know what to look for or how to do repairs. This filter is probably about 5-6 years old.

Is it salvageable or should I buy a new filter? Need an answer as soon as possible since I have a tank full of fish with no filtration now. Thanks!

sumthin fishy

I eat spam
Aug 22, 2005
central california
Real Name
mike
I have no experience with this brand, but I have a fluval unit. They may not be the same, but I have to assume there is a way to access the impeller. When you remove the lid, turn it over and look for a removable cover. Take it off and inspect the impeller. You may have just gotten a foreign object in there that is keeping it from spinning. This is just speculation, but hope it helps :)

I would always recommend either running a second filter or keeping a spare for this type of emergency. If the filter is dead, you can make a simple sponge filter using the media from the canister, an air pump and some tubing. You could take it a step further and use a cleaned out soda bottle. something like this

<iframe width="854" height="480" src="
" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

It would at least provide some biofiltration and at the same time keep the filter media seeded so you can use it in a new filter.

Slappy*McFish

Global Moderator
Staff member
Feb 18, 2002
Raleigh, NC
I would suspect a faulty impeller, as well.

Turbosaurus

AC Members
Dec 26, 2008
Yonkers, NY