I'm ready to own my first, real tank. But first, some questions?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Kaitlyn

AC Members
Sep 20, 2017
Hi friends!

I recently decided I wanted to run a real tank. Growing up, I always got the goldfish from carnival games, just to take them home and stick them in a small bowl (I swear, those bowls must be less than a gallon?!), some glow in the dark gravel and a bright pink, fake plant.

Well, not anymore.

I'm ready to own a beautiful tank with lots of live plants, live food, amazing, healthy bacteria. The works!

Currently, what I have up and running is as such:

A Top Fin 10 Gallon Starter Kit (I'M A BROKE COLLEGE STUDENT, OK?)
  • Heater
  • 10 gallon tank long
  • thermometer
  • filter (I dunno, It's something called a top fin power whisper filter? Not sure if maybe i just need to replace it or not- seems to do good so far)
  • Net
  • Small water sample test tube
  • Sand? I think? It's a little bit of a course substrate.
  • Fake plants (I can always switch out to real plants)
  • A couple real plants of which i don't recall the names
  • Some fake rocks that provide hidey holes
  • A fake log looking thing thats like a small tunnel to hide in
  • LED lights
Freshwater Start Smart Complete (already used)

Top Fin Tap Water Dechlorinator (Mixed with water prior to putting in the tank)

So, I've been cycling my tank for a little while now. Diatom is all over the sand! The last time I went and got my water tested (Which was Monday of this week), my results were:
  • Ammonium: 2
  • Nitrite: .25
  • Ph: 7.6

Now for the questions I have and the help I'm really looking for..