• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

stealie

AC Members
Jun 15, 2017
usa
Real Name
Mae
Camera Used
iPhone 6
Hello! I'm rather new to full tank setups and thought a site like this would help me learn a lot. That being said can I get some opinions on how I want my first real tank to be set up? It's gonna be kinda long I'm sorry

So I have a zebra danio glofish (mtn dew) in a 1.5 gallon right now so that it was easier to transport her back to school. I'm going to upgrade her to a 10 gallon and add some friends (2 more zebras and 4 tetras and maybe some shrimp or a snail if that would be ok) I was thinking this for a setup but has a few questions
•aqueon 20 filter and replacing the carbon with a second sponge
Do I need to replace the sponges ever? I know they harbor the bacteria so should I just lightly wash them off the the tank water I take out during water changes?
•tetra 100 watt heater
Good brand?
•marimo balls
If I do get shrimp and or a snail will it just eat them?
• does tetra safe start actually help the cycle start faster?
•I was thinking of adding a handful of gravel from my current tank she's in to help too
•if I do use the safestart and some old gravel how long should it take to cycle and I'll safely be able to put fish in?

Thank you so much for any help and advice!

myswtsins

Global Moderator
Jun 15, 2008
Central NJ
Real Name
Jen
Camera Used
Canon PowerShot SX260 HS
Welcome to AC!

In a 10g I would suggest sticking with 1 group of fish. Since you have a glofish, 6 glofish with some shrimp and a nerite snail or 2 would be good. Danios and most tetras prefer to be in groups, 6 or more is minimum. In this size tank you'd have to choose between the two.

Only need to replace sponges when they start to fall apart. Rinse in tank water, good!