New to FW,just a few ??? on a good set up

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

ozzy

AC Members
Jul 19, 2003
Visit site
Hello AC
I am new to fresh water but have had a salt water now for a few years,what I would like to do is start off with a 29 gallon tank,so if you was to set up this new tank what would ya use along the line of filtration,substrate,lighting.......ect ect
Just want to make sure I get off on the right track if a know what I mean :) ,I would like to keep this tank as natural as I can
thank for all the help

TKOS

Registered User of Fish
Feb 6, 2003
Nova Scotia, Canada
tkos.unsta.com
What sort of fish do you think you would like to keep. That will probably determine your filtration needs as certain fish (plecos etc...) make huge amounts of waste and need massive filtration. On the other hand a tank of neon tetras will not need nearly as much.

The other big question is do you want live plants? I assume yes as you mention natural tank. But if you want a tank of cichlids then plants may not be the way to go.

scott

AC Members
Mar 12, 2003
Georgia
Visit site
As far as filtration I would go with an AC 300. An emperor 280 is what I have on mine but you can read some of my frustration with it in the Penguin v. Emperor thread in DIY. It is also a good filter though. Substrate, Flourite for plants, whatever you want if not. In freshwater you "generally" use just tapwater without alteration so it is best to determine the parameters of your tapwater and then pick fish. Tapwater can be adjusted but it is easier to know beforehand what to expect and pick the fish accordingly.

ozzy

AC Members
Jul 19, 2003
Visit site
What sort of fish do you think you would like to keep.
just some sort of small tetra...mabe a beta,nothing all that big cause it's onl a 29 gallon
The other big question is do you want live plants?
yes