Planted 40 hex ideas

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

JackM

AC Members
Feb 11, 2017
So I got a great deal on a 40 gallon hex. It is 3 feet wide and 21 inch tall and I would love to have it be a planted tank. I have only done one planted tank before and it is my 10 gallon medium/low light tank. I wanted to do a carpet of micro sword so it looked like grass and some other taller plants that are medium to high light. I have some in mind but before I get too excited I want to see if high light is in my budget. I was looking at some Fluval T5 fixtures that hold 4 bulbs, would I need 4 bulbs or the one that holds two? Also I know I will need a CO2 system so I was going to get gas injection one but since there isn't as much gas exchange because it is a hex could I also have a bubbler for increased oxygen or would that mess up my CO2 system? Any advice would be great because I am new to the planted tank scene and while I love all my other tanks my one little planted is my favorite and I want more.

Rbishop

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 30, 2005
Real Name
Mr. Normal
Got a pic of that hex tank?

JackM

AC Members
Feb 11, 2017
Got a pic of that hex tank?
IMG_0816.JPG IMG_0815.JPG

I was going to get rid of the undergravel filter and build a canister one since I would like it up against the wall and don't care for undergravel filters. Please pardon the huge mess in the background, I am getting ready to move in the next two weeks so everything is everywhere. Speaking of which if anyone has easier ways to move fish and aquariums I would love some tips on that too, my way takes awhile and I haven't had to do it in awhile.

Rbishop

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 30, 2005
Real Name
Mr. Normal
You could use the canister to drive the UGF as a RUGF....

JackM

AC Members
Feb 11, 2017
You could use the canister to drive the UGF as a RUGF....