Some newbie questions

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Nugetto

AC Members
Nov 30, 2016
Hi all, I have no prior knowledge of aquariums and so I am looking for some help. I am hoping to buy some plants for a tropical aquarium as a gift (Or other items maybe). I have to deliver them from here in England to a friend in Singapore. Sorry in advance if any of my questions seems very simple or are offending in any way.

First of all, do I buy grown plants or plant seeds? Or does this not matter?

I am looking to ship them so it will take a couple of days minimum I'm guessing. If I were to buy the plants themselves, would I be okay to box the plant and send it off when it has arrived here in England? Or can this damage the plant in any way?

I'm not looking for anything expensive at all, just a small present. As I have no prior knowledge and to get an idea of what to look for, what gifts would you love to receive for a tropical aquarium? Links would be helpful. I'm looking at something within the £20-30 range.

Thanks all in advance for your help. :)

OrionGirl

No freelancing!
Aug 14, 2001
Poconos
Real Name
Sheila
There are likely some restrictions on what you can legally send to Singapore that should be a higher concern.

That said...a gift card to a local shop would be way better. I know it seems less personal, but when dealing with live stock and plants, it is WAY more considerate. Sending someone something they might have no desire to have, or worse any way to keep alive, is not a nice gift.

Nugetto

AC Members
Nov 30, 2016
There are likely some restrictions on what you can legally send to Singapore that should be a higher concern.