Thinking of getting into SW

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

clownfish

AC Members
Dec 22, 2002
Ontario, Canada
Visit site
I think I've pretty much decided to take the plunge and get into a marine tank. I'd like to start on the right foot and do everything correctly so that I have a tank of happy critters (and a happy owner!)

I currently have a 33 gallon tank that I could like to convert. I have no experience with marine fishkeeping in terms of what filters I need etc.

I do know what fish I would like, and I know which of those would not work. I would like to keep a few common clownfish (Amphiprion ocellaris) as I know they are suitable for my tank size (and because they are gorgeous!) What type of anenomes would be a suitable tank-mate or any other fish if possible?

latazyo

Grisled
Sep 17, 2002
I, too, am starting a marine tank

I have stuff ordered, etc, bu t have not set it up yet, I'm doing a nano 10g, so my situation may be different from yours

basically I"m gonna tell you what anyone else would

read
do research
read more
research more

basically...you need to decide on what type you want
FOWLR (fish only, with live rock)
FO (fish only)
or reef

what y ou decide there ewill determine what extent you need to go to for lighting, water movement

you also need to decide if you want to filter through a sump or biologically (live rock (LR) and live sand (LS))

you really need to plan ahead and decide on what you want to keep (you've decided on clownfish--excellent choice, I am keeping one in my 10g, I also think they're gorgeous), but you need to decide if you also want to keep corals, which makes it a different ball game (in terms of water movement/circulation and especially lighting)