what do i need to do here???

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

mtdewlover

AC Members
Dec 19, 2002
Ohio
Visit site
I'm new to this whole marine thing. I've been researching but I have a few questions. How do you make saltwater to begin with? And do you have to add stuff to the tank when you start, when you do water changes and on a regular basis? What's with this calcium thing, do I have to add that? Should I get live rock? I'm thinking of having reef and coral as well can I have all three and any pros and cons there? Should I have a chiller? Is a 29 gallon tank a bad size for a saltwater aquarium? Any other tips ideas problems you've had with your own tank I should watch for would be great! Thank you for your help.

Toooloud

AC Members
Nov 28, 2002
Visit site
The first thing with marine tanks to know is.. BUY THE BIGGEST AND BEST YOU CAN AFFORD..

Save yourself the money latter on, Once you get into the hobby.. nothing is bigeough.. bright eough.. ect..

29 gallon is good.. with marine tanks they can be a hand full to maintain, So the larger the tank you go the easier it is to maintian.. i started with a 29 gallon tank a year ago.. i now i have a 29 gallon, 45 gallon, 90 gallon and a 72 gallon.. all marine tanks.. and im looking to have a custom 300 gallon made soon..

as for live rock.. YES.. You want 1 - 1.5 pounds of live rock per gallon of water.. this is what will filter your marine tank.. you do now want any Mechanical filtration on a marine tank execpt for a skimmer, and you want to get the largest and strongest skimmer you can afford.. if you have a 20 gallon now, Buy one good for up to 200 gallons, Becouse one day you will have atleast a 120 gallon tank with most likly a 60 gallon sump.. so you are going to need it.. so dont waste your money on a smaller one now when you are just going to buy one later.