4300 Gallon Plywood Build (3600+ Take 2)

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

captmicha

Le tired.
Dec 6, 2006
Maryland, USA
Here's a thought, why not go to your closest aquarium (not store, I mean like your city's aquarium) and ask them what they do and for pointers? Or just try contacting them. It can't hurt.

mduncan2

complete novice
Feb 14, 2010
Brisbane, QLD, Australia
My suggestion is more fun. But requires the leak to be substantial enough that it would lose a cup of water in the space of 5-10 seconds. So you would need to measure how slowly the tank level drops to work out how much you are losing.

Fill the tank half way or more (higher level will put more pressure on the leak and make it easier to find because the water will push through it faster).

Wait a few hours for all water movement to cease.

Get some food coloring or some other dye in a bottle.

Put on some old ratty shorts and climb into the tank carefully without moving too much water around.

Move slowly across to the window and start squeezing out some of the food coloring along the window surounds. See if you can deteck the water 'moving' out through a gap anywhere.

Otherwise, contact a pool-leak detection company and ask their advice. After all, that is how a lot of pool companies detect where the leak is in the 'tub' of a pool here in sunny Australia.

Such a pity you can't see it gushing out anywhere. And such a pity you can't put atmospheric pressure into your room to see where the bubbles enter the water. haha. :)

Best of luck Pete. And congrats on your engagement. It isn't easy for us single men to find a partner who is so accepting of our slightly obsessive aquarium hobby.

Nolapete

Monster Tank Builder
May 29, 2007
New Orleans, LA