Discolouration in my goldfish

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Drocagen

AC Members
Dec 23, 2016
I've been keeping goldfish and/or smaller fish for about 3 years now, each of them dies around the 1 year mark due to reasons like one fish eating all of the holiday food themselves or poor water quality in general.
Lately i've noticed that one of my gold fish has gone pretty much completely white and some parts of the skin has gone slightly trabslucent. At first it wasn't too noticable but currently it is white spare a few small orange spots. It's behaviour is fairly normal so i'm not sure what could be happening to it. Please help

FreshyFresh

Global Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2013
West Falls NY
Real Name
Joel
Hoping this isn't a one hit wonder, but goldfish can change color. One of my fancies that's a few years old went from a bright orange to a pale yellow/white over time. Given your overfeeding and lack of care statement, that could be the cause as well.

Drocagen

AC Members
Dec 23, 2016
What are your water parameters? What's the tank size? What is your maintenance routine?
Ammonia : 0.06ppm
Nitrite : 0.75ppm
Nitrate : 30ppm
PH : 7

Not sure about tank size and i change about 50% of thw water once a week

Drocagen

AC Members
Dec 23, 2016
Hoping this isn't a one hit wonder, but goldfish can change color. One of my fancies that's a few years old went from a bright orange to a pale yellow/white over time. Given your overfeeding and lack of care statement, that could be the cause as well.
The fish thats going white, I've kept for less than a year. I don't know how old it was before i bought it but judging by it's size, it looks quite young.