Hello, newbie here.

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

WeeFishies

Registered Member
Oct 19, 2018
Hi folks,
I'm a novice aquarium keeper, I have a Top Fin 3.5 gallon desktop tank that has been fishless cycling for three weeks. It is the second tank I've ever kept. My last tank was over five years ago and was a 6 gallon Marineland with a BioWheel, I liked that tank a lot and it was a beautiful aquarium for years. My current tank came with its own filter and carbon filter cartridges I am supposed to purchase. I found Fluval/AquaClear BioMax Filter Inserts on a clearance sale, as well as SeaChem Purigen. I'm unsure what to do with each of them yet.

For my current tank I added gravel to the tank and treated the water with SeaChem Prime. I added in Dr. Tim's ammonia, then I added Stability several times along with an airstone/pump and a heater set to 85 degrees F. I purchased an Aqueon 50w heater but I'd like one a little more reliable so I ordered a Cobalt Neo Therm 75w and am awaiting its arrival. I saw a video that stated the beneficial bacteria grew quicker with aeration and at a warm temperature.

I have the API freshwater test kit, and I was excited several days ago when I saw the ammonia drop a little, then drop to zero the next day. The nitrites currently test at over 5ppm. I guess I'm just waiting now. I test nitrites daily because I am impatient, Dr. Tim's video states that I shouldn't add any more ammonia until the nitrites reach zero.