60 Gallon Tank Setup

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

jtino

AC Members
Feb 26, 2022
This is what I have for a 60 gallon tank setup so far. Let me know if there are any concerns or if should add anything else for equipment. I’m new to this big of a tank so I’m providing as much detail as possible.

Tank: Clear for Life 60 Gallon Acrylic tank with black background. 48L x 15W x 20H. The tank will have plants, driftwood, and caves as décor.
Substrate: Light colored or Black sand. Not sure if the fish would look okay with black sand and a black background
Filter: Fluval 407 Cannister Filter
Wave Maker

Stocking:

1 Red Tail Shark

12 Tiger Barbs

2-3 Female Kribensis Cichlids – I don’t want any breeding, so I don’t know if not having a male will be a problem.

5 Redline Torpedo Barbs

fishorama

AC Members
Jun 28, 2006
SF Bay area, CA
Welcome to AC!

I haven't kept RT shark with torpedo barbs but there could be a bit of chasing or worse. Sharks tend to dislike other torpedo shaped fish; torpedos may jump, they're a little nervous IME but beautiful. Plants will help, what are you planning?

& that's kind of a lot of medium/biggish when adult. The shark & torpedo barbs will grow to 5+ inches, the tiger barbs 2.5" for males & more like 3" for females; kribs 2.5. I like that you want a group of each of the schoolers but that's kind of a lot bio-load (fish mass).

With kribs & shark you'll need to have at least 2 caves for the shark & 1 for each krib. So I'd suggest only 2 female kribs. Sharks often prefer swim through caves, kribs are ok with just 1 opening.

Is the wave maker able to allow calmer areas for the kribs? I have used powerheads but not a wave maker, I'm not sure of the differences. With PHs you can aim the flow, so you may need to play around with placement/aim.