Allergic to fish tank?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

7thdog

Registered Member
Jan 26, 2021
Hey! I'm fairly new to the hobby! I have two fish tanks in my room, a 15 gallon and 30 gallon! I really enjoy taking care of them but I think I'm having a major issue. Whenever I'm in my bedroom I get bad symptoms of allergies. A runny nose, my eye gets irritated and it looks like I have pink eye, I cough a bit, and etc. Am I allergic to my fish tanks? I keep the tanks clean and do a water change weekly. My mom keeps saying that it's my fish tanks and I was wondering if anyone could help. I need to know if I am abd what would be the best thing to do for myself and the fish.

FishAddict74

AC Members
Dec 8, 2020
Hey! I'm fairly new to the hobby! I have two fish tanks in my room, a 15 gallon and 30 gallon! I really enjoy taking care of them but I think I'm having a major issue. Whenever I'm in my bedroom I get bad symptoms of allergies. A runny nose, my eye gets irritated and it looks like I have pink eye, I cough a bit, and etc. Am I allergic to my fish tanks? I keep the tanks clean and do a water change weekly. My mom keeps saying that it's my fish tanks and I was wondering if anyone could help. I need to know if I am abd what would be the best thing to do for myself and the fish.
Do you feed bloodworms? I’ve heard of people being allergic to those.

Reactions: dudley

dudley

Eheim User
Feb 9, 2005
Medina, Ohio
Real Name
Dee
Sorry to hear about the problem with allergies.

I agree with stop feeding blood worms, many people are allergic to them including me.

Reactions: FishAddict74

Wyomingite

Fish Wrangler
Oct 16, 2008
Wonderful Windy Wyoming
Real Name
Ivan