Anabas testudineus (Climbing Perch)

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

ISpilledMyDrink

AC Members
Jan 4, 2017
Good day,

I'm new to this forum. I have two plastic containers lying around, each has the size of 60cm x 30cm x 30 cm. I have been searching around for information about Anabas testudineus. It is a native species in my area and mostly reared as food. I can't find any of them in LFS, so I am thinking of buying from a fish farm. The problem is, they all have minimum order, like 1000 fries. I managed to find one fish farm that has a minimum order of 100 fries. Should I buy 100 and only keep the best few while releasing the rest into a lake nearby? Or should I just buy adults instead? The fries sold are about 2 inches long and they can grow to 15 cm in captivity or 25 cm in the wild. I find it more rewarding to watch the fries grow into adults, but since I'm just a beginner, I'm not sure if I know how to keep fish fries.

Also, anyone who has the experience in keeping Anabas testudineus? Some sources said they are carnivorous, some said they are omnivorous. Some said they are best kept alone, while others said they are peaceful.

Tifftastic

"With your powers combined . . ."
Sep 9, 2008
Glasgow, Scotland
Real Name
Tiff
Never release a fish that was reared in captivity (farm or home) into the wild. Regardless if they are native. Fish farms often have diseases and infections, due to this they often treat with medications that make the fish unsuitable for release or the fish live with the infection. Also, releasing fish into the wild is illegal in many circumstances without a license. Even when the fish are native, randomly upping the population in a given area can be disastrous for other species that live there.