Angelfish and schooling fish?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

NattyGains

AC Members
Jan 8, 2017
So I've recently finished cycling my first fish tank ever. I've stocked it with about 20 Neon Tetras and a couple of Rasboras. Looks nice and the fish seemed happy.

About 10 days ago, against my best judgement, I bought a pair of Angelfish. The store owner kept pushing that "nothing will happen" and that "he keeps them with Neons all the time". He pushed it for a good 10 minutes, eventually I caved in because I figured that this guy knows way more than me; I'm very new to the hobby.

Anyway, over the course of the last 10 days, I've been noticing the number of my Neons drop. I figured some may be hiding because of the new fish, but turns out the big angel is straight up eating them. I woke up this morning to just one lonely tetra left, he's managed to cull 19 of them in just a few days.

So yeah, rant over, but at least I learned a valuable lesson about trusting pet stores on anything.

I don't want to throw the Angelfish away, but Neons are clearly not an option anymore. Does anyone have any tips for vibrant, schooling fish that hang near the middle and that my Angels won't try to eat? Tank is 55 gallons, has decent filtration and is heavily planted.

Tifftastic

"With your powers combined . . ."
Sep 9, 2008
Glasgow, Scotland
Real Name
Tiff
Black neons are a bit bigger and fairly colorful (black with an orange stripe). There are also rummy nose tetras that are a little bigger. There's also cherry barbs. There are a lot more options than that, those are just my favorites. You could also look into dwarf neon rainbows.

NattyGains

AC Members
Jan 8, 2017
Thanks for the tips! Cherry barbs look very pretty. I'll definitely try to get my hands on a few if my local stores have them

FreshyFresh

Global Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2013
West Falls NY
Real Name
Joel