Babies and Algae Eater

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

wolfnature

AC Members
Dec 20, 2002
Everett, WA
Visit site
Howdy everyone,

I am relatively new to fish and aquariums (about 5 months) and am definately still learning.

I started with a 10 gallon tank and currently have 2 swordtails, 2 guppies, 1 chinese algae eater, and 1 dwarf frog. I recently purchased a 6 gallon tank to use as a breeding tank (after some surprise babies :) ). I have had the tank setup for about 3 weeks and have had the babies in there for almost 2 weeks (they're doing great).

I am considering adding a chinese algae eater to the breeding tank because I am already getting quite a bit of algae on the tank walls. The chinese algae eater I have in the 10 gallon tank does a great job of keeping things clean and gets along with everyone, so I think one would do good in the new tank. My question is if there are any possible negative aspects to this. I'm not sure if this will have a bad effect on the babies. There are currently 9 baby swordtails in the tank and are a bit over a month old and are big enough to not be eaten :)

Thanks for any advice.

kveeti

Easily amused
Jun 12, 2002
Winnipeg, MB
The problem is a Chinese algae eater (Gyrinocheilus aymonieri) will get much too big for your 6 gallon breeder. You won't be able to move him to the 10 gallon after, because even that tank will eventually be too small for the one already in there. They grow to over 6 inches and zoom around fast, they need a large tank.

p.s. Welcome to Aquaria Central.

pinballqueen

Roleplayer
Aug 4, 2002
Sevierville, TN
www.hostultra.com
I'll be the first one to point out that c.a.e.'s are not nice forever...they will develop a mean streak when they reach full size. It could depend on the individual fish, but all of them I have had have started picking on slow movers when they got up to 3 or 4 inches.