Big Problem With Eco-Complete

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Aquabum

Always B itchin
Nov 27, 2004
I don't even know how to describe this. I'm very new to this substrate and I'm going nuts trying to figure out what went wrong.

I hope that someone can help me figure this out. Here we go:

I bought 2 bags of Eco-Complete for my 29 gallon planted tank about a week ago. I read that this substrate does not alter the ph or the gh, but, unfortunately, for some reason, the ph in my tank has gone through the roof. However the gh is the same, about 4. The ph in my tank with the old substrate, was 6.6 with a kh of 3 to 4 and co2 levels were (diy (1) 2 litre bottle) 20-25 ppm depending on the baking soda I added to the tank (I carefully measure this). The ph from the tap is 6.6 and kh is 0. I tested it this morning by letting the water settle overnight, it's still 6.6 and kh is 0. Keeping the kh at 3 or 4 with baking soda always gave me a steady reading of 6.6 to 6.8 with co2 and the plants grew very well with hardly any algae. I've been doing this for a couple of months now and nothing has ever changed.

When I changed the substrate to Eco-Complete, my ph was going nuts. Last week I tested it and was surprised to discover that before the diy co2 the ph was at 7.2 and the kh was at 6 .:eek: I knew something was wrong. I tested it again, still the same results. I did a 20% water change for 2 days and the kh went down to 4, and the ph was at 7.0, still too high with co2.