Canister filter recommendation

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

happypoet

AC Members
Jul 9, 2010
Missouri
Real Name
Aaron
Hi all,
I'm getting ready to set up my new 55 river tank. Stocking will be fairly light, and I'll have two strong powerheads hooked up to sponge filters running the river manifold, so I don't think I'll need super strong filtration, but I'd like it to be easy to maintain and quiet. I'm thinking canister. Either the basic Eheim 2213 or 15, or the new Nexx from API, which I've found really cheap. Maybe the new Fluval 06 series (206)? I'm certainly open to suggestions outside of those two as well.
I've never used canisters before, so I'd love any advice I can get. Among similarly performing options, price is definitely a big factor. Thanks!

yss

AC Members
Jan 2, 2012
Northern VA
Real Name
Yun
I like Rena XP4. I have eheim, fluval, rena, and cascade cannister filters, but Renas are the best value, I think.

platytudes

AC Members
Nov 4, 2006
Panama City, FL
Real Name
Nicole
The Nexx looks interesting, but I'm not sure how customizable it will be...I can't imagine buying disposable inserts for it.

Of course, you're going to get a lot of people recommending the SunSun/Grech/Perfect filter, who's latest incarnation I believe is Aqua Top: http://www.amazon.com/AquaTop-CF-500UV-Canister-Filter-Sterilizer/dp/B004GIXCI4

Don't ask me why it's selling for this crazy price on Amazon :screwy: It's still available for $60 or so on eBay!