CO2/pH controller

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Drewbacca

AC Members
Mar 20, 2019
I’m going to be converting my 55 gallon to a planter aquarium soon. I was hoping to start with beginner plants, like java moss, java ferns, and Amazon swords to help with things, since this is my first time with plants. Most of what I’ve read said that the plants I’m considering don’t really need CO2 injection, but they would do slightly better with it. Rate of growth is not a concern for me... just the final product. Anyway, I read an article a couple days ago where the person had used a pH controller hooked up to a CO2 system and an aerator. This helped more naturally control the pH and helped with the plants. I know this would be quite expensive though. Any thoughts on this kind of setup?

tanker

Josh Holloway--Be mine!!!
Sep 1, 2003
Calif. SF Bay area
Visit site
Real Name
Jessica
IMO, Java moss and Java fern does not need CO2. They do not grow fast enough, but you are correct that it may help. From my experience, Sword plants are not really that easy to grow. From my experience, they do like brighter lights, need root food, and do not like their roots to be crowded. And they can grow big.

PS--I use CO2, but I have bright lights.

Drewbacca

AC Members
Mar 20, 2019
I'm using the Finnex Planted+ 24/7 lights running on 24/7 mode. My tap water is pretty alkaline with a pH of about 8. My ideal range for my fish would be 7-7.5. That said, my fish have always seemed to be doing fine without adjusting my tap.

In addition to the above, I was thinking of adding in some Vallisneria as well.

dougall

Mar 29, 2005
I think that all plants will gain, but some more than others, from supplemental CO2;

But,if you ate going to use it, it can cause more harm than good if it is inconsistent or runs out and is not refilled for some time.